Crafts with corks!

Standard

Hellooooo everyone!  I am starting this blog to write about my experience working through my pins on Pinterest!  If you are anything like me, you pin and pin and pin….but rarely make or buy anything that you pin.  I seriously just get caught up in the moment and pin like crazy, but a few days ago I started wondering if I would actually benefit from anything I pinned…so hopefully this blog will be a way for me to commit to working through the hundreds of pins that I have.  Pretty certain the “yummy treats” board has almost 150 pins and my DIY and Crafts boards have dozens and dozens, so I have a LOT of work to do.  As I move through my pins and blogs, please feel free to ask questions or leave comments about the things I post!

My first cork crafts:  Do you drink wine?  Before I moved here, I drank a TON of wine and kept the corks…never really had a reason to, but I did and after several years of collecting, I have quite a lot.  Until I started on Pinterest, I didn’t have many ideas for these corks, so they sat in various vases and became floor décor 🙂 haha  original isn’t it?!?!  ok, so the first craft….a cork letter.  My last name starts with an L, so I thought this would be a great little something to hang on the wall in my apartment.

Materials Needed:  Corks (# varies), glue gun with glue sticks, wooden letter, knife                 NOTE: Wax or plastic corks wont work bc the glue wont adhere to them.

The pin on Pinterest had you gluing the whole cork to the letter, but I thought that was a waste of corks, so I cut mine in half. (you don’t have to do this step!) BE CAREFUL, bc this was not a super simple task.  The cork is rather stiff, so it was a bit hard to cut.  I did manage to cut them all with a sharp serrated knife…slowly and with gloves on.  An electric knife may work better, but I don’t have one.  Once you halve your corks, arrange the corks on your letter, so you can figure out how they lay best.  As you see in my pictures, I let my corks extend over the letter, so there is overhang…making the letter bigger.  After you have them arranged the way that you want, take a picture of it.  This way you have the exact template to use while gluing them.  Glue each cork to the wooden letter until the entire letter is covered.  Let it set for a good 30-60min, ensuring it is dry and not going anywhere.  Then you’re done!  I didn’t put a hanger on mine, bc it leans up against the wall, but you could always add a picture hanger or glue on some pretty ribbon or rope for a hanger.  BTW, I bought the letter at Ben Franklin for $5 (I think it was on sale).  They also sell wine corks if you want to do this craft but aren’t a drinker!

IMG_0332 IMG_0333

Craft #2 – Cork card holder

Materials needed: Corks, glue and glue gun, hanger of choice (I used hemp rope) NOTE: Wax or plastic corks wont work bc the glue wont adhere to them.

As with the first craft, lay the corks on the wood, to make sure you have enough corks to complete the project.  Once you have the correct amount of corks, glue them on the balsa wood, making sure to keep it all centered.  After all of the corks are in place, let is set for 30-60min to make sure it all dries and sticks.  Then, glue on a hanger of your choice!

Note: when hanging a card, make sure to push the pins in easy or you may pop a cork off.  The bond is NOT like super glue, so take it easy.

IMG_0330 IMG_0331

Until next time!  Keep on pinning 🙂

Leave a comment